Posted by: draknor | November 9, 2011

New Seasons, New Chapters

The first snow of the season is falling today!  Winter has officially arrived. It’s like a new chapter of the year.  What great timing!

I had a great week last week with my photography – I did my 3rd shoot and went back to my friends’ condo to “finish” my first shoot.  I am happy with the progress I have made and the results I have gotten so far.  My next step seems pretty clear — get out there & sell myself. In fact, a real estate agent flier-bombed our neighborhood over the weekend so I’ve already got a name & phone number I can start with.

And my martial arts class is also moving forward. I taught my demo class for melt last week (which went very well) and I just met today with an organizer for the UW-Madison Union Mini Courses.  She thinks my class would be a great fit for their catalog and we’ll look at scheduling an offering in their winter/spring term (which starts in Feb 2012).

Last week when I wrote about this, I had a lot of fear — not sure what was next, a fear of progress, and also a fear of not progressing enough to sustain myself (financially).  I did my monthly financials yesterday and I’m doing okay; definitely need to be moving towards income again (which I am) but I’m okay without it for another couple of months.   Definitely need to put a stop on “toy spending”, though.  I’ve got the equipment I need now for the level of real estate photography I’m doing.  I just built a new computer that was probably a little excessive, but building computers is one of my favorite hobbies to do and I could almost justify it because of all the digital photo processing I’m doing.

Professionally, I’m pretty much done for the week now; tonight I have a board/card game night with friends and tomorrow I leave for Minneapolis for a computer gaming weekend (aka LAN party).  And yes, it may not be complete coincidence that I happened to build a bad-ass new computer just days before I retreat to a basement with 4-5 geeky friends to play video games all weekend long…  But yeah, I’m super-excited for it!

I also resumed my weight training this week, after taking my customary week off after running a marathon.  So that means my quads are sore & my low back is tight (which is probably due to tight hamstrings).  Hurts so good… but actually, I credit the strength-training with my better outlook & energy this week.  The Stronglifts 5×5 program I’m following shows you progress every single workout, and combining that psychological boost (seeing progress) with the physical effects of working out (heart pumping, muscles burning, hormones going) is  doubleplusgood!

It’s a great time to be alive! I’m excited for where I’m at and where I’m going, and I can’t wait to see where this chapter of my life goes!  I want it to be a real page-turner 😉

Categories